博客

为一家准备新品上市的公司做系统实施

激进的时间表、频繁变动的优先任务、高风险的业务目标,这些因素决定了生命科学与制药企业无论选择在何时部署CRM系统,都将是一项艰巨的任务。对于那些即将发布首款产品的企业,投资部署一款可以帮助这些公司转型成为新型商业公司的系统,不啻为一项更为严峻的考验,但同时更是一项至关重要的举措。

我在生命科学与制药行业从业五年多,与诸多客户合作安装了超过15款Veeva CRM系统。其中最激动人心的、也是最有成效的项目,是为准备新品上市的公司部署Veeva CRM系统,使其作为这类公司未来业务发展的基础。

最近几个月,我有幸参与了两个准备新品上市的公司的项目。为了保证您的团队在Veeva CRM的鼎力协助下为产品首发日做好准备,我为您整理了几点经验分享和注意事项,助您通过使用CRM系统将首款产品推向市场并取得成功。

一线人员仍在培养

为准备新品上市的公司部署系统时,在请求与迭代审批阶段可能只能接触到数量有限的利益相关者,这为工作带来了难度。比如,在系统部署之时,这两家公司都处于招募员工以及培养一线人员的阶段。

遇到这类问题时,首先要弄清哪些是决定系统部署是否成功的关键决策。重点关注系统核心功能是否能够满足公司主要业务流程需求,这一点至关重要,充分利用云技术的灵活特点也很重要。这包括积极规划一套变化控制流程及发布管理策略,以便为系统上线后的版本部署升级。请记住,云系统上线快速、配置灵活,即使部分功能在运营第一天无法上线,仍可在未来安装启用。

关键日期不断变更

我与准备新品上市公司合作的时候发现,如何规划系统上线日期并使其与产品发布日重合,这是一项挑战。产品发布日经常不固定,取决于药物何时通过美国药监局的审批。某些情况下药物可能迅速通过审批,这会导致时间表上的日期提前。因此,保持领先优势并时刻准备好变更关键日期来实现商业目标,这是极为重要的一点。专业项目团队拥有处理突发情况的丰富经验,他们会与您共同调整规划,让系统成功上线。

优先任务彼此冲突

公司正在紧张地筹备产品发布,因此部署CRM系统并不是他们唯一的优先任务。部门总监要雇用经理,经理要雇用医药代表,法律合规团队要培训新团队,营销部门在忙于推广产品,而管理层则需要统筹以上一切。任务千头万绪,因此CRM的安装需要争分夺秒,从这些关键决策者手中抢时间。这经常导致约定的会面时间一改再改,面对面讨论业务的时间也越来越少。因此需要珍惜一切能够进行交流的时间,见缝插针,时刻准备调整会面时间。

引导客户熟悉CRM的商业环境

通常情况下,公司管理者都需要逐步掌握商业环境下的互动规则。在CRM领域,您应当信任自己的项目团队针对关键决策提供的资料和指导。

尽管转型成为一家商业公司看似是一个艰巨的任务,但您同时也获得了以合适的商业运营手段取得成功的绝佳机会。Veeva CRM是一款专为生命科学与制药企业定制的、基于云技术的系统平台,旨在帮助生命科学与制药企业实施以客户为中心的多渠道定制化互动战略。我们拥有先进的云技术和行业专长,致力于帮助客户取得成功——追求卓越,我们与您同行。

Blog

Implementing a Pre-Commercial Client – Working with the Unknown

Aggressive timelines, shifting priorities and high stakes business objectives mean there is never an easy time for a life sciences company to implement a CRM system. For firms launching their first product, it’s both more daunting and more important to invest in a system that will help these companies flourish in their transformation to newly-commercial firms

Over a career of five years in life sciences, I’ve had the opportunity to work closely with customers on more than fifteen Veeva CRM implementations. Across all these launches, however, among the most exciting—and the most rewarding—is implementing Veeva CRM as a foundation for pre-commercial clients.

In recent months, I’ve had the opportunity to work on two projects for pre-commercial clients. To help ensure your teams are ready for launch day—fully empowered with Veeva CRM—I’ve compiled some best practices and insights to keep in mind as you juggle bringing your first product to market and implementing a CRM system to help make sure it is a success.

Developing Field Forces

One challenge in pre-commercial client implementation, is that there may be a limited number of stakeholders available during the requirements and iterative review phases. Both of my pre-commerical clients, for instance, were in the process of hiring and developing their field forces during the implementation.

When faced with this challenge, it’s important to clearly identify the key decisions that will lead to a successful deployment. While it’s crucial to prioritize day one needs and focus on essential core functionality to meet your main business processes, it’s also important to take advantage of the flexibility of cloud technology. This involves proactively planning a change control process and release management strategy to deploy enhancements in future releases post go-live. Remember, the speed and configurability of cloud means that functionality which is not there on day one can be released in future implementations.

Shifting Milestone Dates

When working with a pre-commercial client, planning a go-live date that coincides with the commercial launch can be challenging. The commercial launch is often a soft date that is dependent on the drug’s FDA approval. In some instances, the drug may be fast tracked, which will move timeline dates up. It’s important to stay ahead of the curve and be prepared to shift milestone dates to meet your objectives. An expert project team will have experience planning for the unexpected and will work with you to adjust the plan to reach a successful go-live.

Competing Priorities

When companies are ramping up for their first launch, the CRM project is not their only priority. Directors are hiring managers, managers are hiring reps, legal compliance teams are educating the new teams, marketing is working on branding the product and leadership is working to keep all of the pieces together. There is a lot going on and the CRM implementation is competing for time from all of the key players. This can often lead to shifting meeting times and decreased face-time with the business. It’s important to make use of the time you have available with them and be prepared to adjust and stand meetings up on the fly.

Guiding the Client into the Commercial CRM Landscape

Often times, members of the business are learning the rules of engagement on the commercial landscape. When it comes to CRM, you should be able to trust your project team to provide insight and guidance on key decision-making.

Although making the transition to a commercial company can seem like a daunting task, it really provides an excellent opportunity to set yourself up for success with the right commercial operations. Cloud-based and built specifically for life sciences, Veeva CRM is designed to help companies deliver a customer-centric, tailored engagement strategy across all channels. And along with cloud technology and industry expertise, a strong customer success focus is built into our DNA—meaning that we’re with you every step of the way.

Interested in learning more about how Veeva can help?